Beryl Tobin Trophy

Congratulations to Amy Squires for winning the 2023 Beryl Tobin Trophy.


In 1994, the first year of this event, Robyn Watt from Waratah Golf Club donated the trophy in honour of Beryl Tobin. While the guidelines for this event have changed over the years, the idea of encouraging players on lower handicaps to participate in open stroke events at other clubs , which was instrumental in its introduction, has not. The winner is the player with the highest number of points over a 12 month period. The presentation of the trophy takes place at the Annual General meeting held in November each year.

Beryl Tobin, now a Life Member of the Association, served on the Association Committee for over 30 years,  ten of these as President. She has been a member of the Waratah Golf Club since 1945 when her father first nominated her and is now a Life Member of that Club.

Her golf achievements include 8 Holes in One, Club Champion 19 times, Club Foursomes Champion 18 times, Mixed Foursomes Champion 12 times, and she has played Pennants for 50 years.

As a member of Newcastle Golf Club Beryl held the Championship 14 times plus several foursomes and mixed events. She has set numerous course records, won District Championships and Champion of Champions events, State and Country titles, and played exhibition matches at National and International level. She is also Patron of Sugar Valley and Waratah Golf Clubs.

Beryl is still an active member of the Association.

More Results

Download Result