Committee Members

The 2024 NHDLGA Committee

The new NHDLGA committee has been elected.   The new committee is:   Margaret Pearson, Philippa Kearney, Maureen Dryer, Robyn Suprano,  Sue Randall, Rosanna Rossi, Bronwyn Isherwood, Linda Overend, and Helen Haynes.  Life members are Lorraine O’Conner, Beryl Tobin and Robyn Winter. 

Committee Roles and Responsibilities

  • The President presides at all General Meetings and Committee Meetings.
  • The Vice-President, in the absence of the President, shall preside over any General Meeting or Committee Meeting.
  • The Secretary / Assistant Secretary conducts all necessary correspondence, keeps custody of all documents associated with the Association, keeps full and accurate minutes of all proceedings and records of all competitions & tournaments.
  • The Captain Chairs the Match Sub-Committee meetings.
  • The Treasurer keeps the accounts of the Association and the NHDLGA Committee.
  • The Junior Promotions Officer (JPO) promotes and develops junior golf in the District.
  • The Communications Officer updates this website and is responsible for promoting NHDLGA in the media. 
  • The NHDLGA Committee Member assists other Members when and where necessary.

Contact Details


Margaret Pearson

Club: Merewether

Vice President

Philippa Kearney

Club: Pacific Dunes


Maureen Dryer

Club: Waratah

Vice Captain

Robyn Suprano

Club: Waratah


Rosanna Rossi

Club: Merewether

Assistant Secretary

Bronwyn Isherwood

Club: Charlestown


Sue Randall

Club: Toronto

Jr Promotions Officer

Phillippa Kearney

Club: Pacific Dunes

Communications Officer/Webmaster

Linda Overend

Club: Pacific Dunes

Committee Member

Helen Haynes

Club: Hawks Nest

Life Members

Our Committee | NHDLGA Committee

Beryl Tobin

Beryl Tobin served on the NHDLGA Committee for over 30 years, ten of these as President. She has been a member of the Waratah Golf Club since 1945 when her father first nominated her and is now a Life Member of that Club.

Her golf achievements include 8 Holes in One, Club Champion 19 times, Club Foursomes Champion 18 times, Mixed Foursomes Champion 12 times, and she has played Pennants for 50 years.

As a member of Newcastle Golf Club, Beryl held the Championship 14 times plus several foursomes and mixed events. She has set numerous course records, won District Championships and Champion of Champions events, State and Country titles, and played exhibition matches at National and International level. She is also Patron of Sugar Valley and Waratah Golf Clubs.   In 2019, Beryl was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia for her work promoting women’s golf.

Beryl was nominated as an NHDLGA Life member in 1996 and is still an active member of the Association.
Our Committee | NHDLGA Committee

Lorraine O’Connor

Lorraine O’Connor has been a  tireless worker on the committee for over a decade.   Lorraine first joined the Committee in 2006 as a Member and over the years eagerly took on various roles. In 2007 she became the Technical Officer and Editor of the District Website and in 2008, held the position of Captain.   In 2009 she assumed the role as historian, a job she continues to hold.  From 2013 to 2015, Lorraine again took on the role of webmistress liaising with the web administrators to ensure the website up to date.  From 2016 to 2017, she expanded her role to include Communication Officer while continuing to work with the website. After a brief break from duties, she returned in 2019 as the NHDLGA Committee Member.   Since her return in 2019,  Lorraine chaired the Constitution sub-committee and finalized the new more streamline Constitution for the District.  Lorraine’s efforts have greatly assisted the committee and have had a direct impact on improving golf across the District.   Lorraine joins Beryl Tobin as a District a Life Member.